Connect with us


Countries Are Banning The Use Of Petrol Cars, See The Dates They Have Set



The European Union wants to phase out petrol car sales by 2035, and many other countries have announced similar plans.

A petrol vehicle phaseout is sometimes called an ICE ban – or an internal combustion engine ban.

Many countries are planning for a diesel ban in addition to a petrol ban for new car sales.

The long list of countries planning to ban fossil fuel vehicles shows a growing trend of countries moving beyond crude oil products to cleaner, cheaper alternatives.

Here are the latest petrol car phaseout advances by various countries and the US – including banning petrol cars sales and diesel car bans.



1. Austria: seeks to to phase out registrations of new petrol vehicles by 2027.

2. British Columbia: legislation passed to ban sales of new petrol cars by 2040

3.  Denmark: plans to ban petrol vehicles by 2030, and hybrids by 2035; has called on the European Union to expressly permit member states to enact 2030 bans.

4.  Egypt: working on plan to have only electric vehicles by 2040

5.  France: plans to ban sales of petrol vehicles by 2040

6.  Germany: Bundesrat (upper house of legislature) passed resolution to only approve emission-free cars for use on the roads by 2030.

7. Iceland: plans to ban registration of new fossil fuel vehicles starting 2030; Reykjavik is eliminating half its petrol stations by 2025.

8. India: set a target of 100% electric vehicles by 2030, and is considering a ban on petrol-powered 2- and 3-wheeled vehicles by 2025.

9.  Ireland: legislation proposed to only allow sales of zero emissions vehicles starting 2030

10.  Israel: plans to ban sales of new petrol vehicles after 2030

11. Japan: plans to ban sales of new petrol vehicles by 2035.

12. Korea: contemplating banning sales of new petrol vehicles by 2035

13.  Netherlands: all new cars must be emissions-free by 2030; Amsterdam is banning all petrol/diesel vehicles from its streets by 2030

14.  Norway: plans to ban sales of petrol vehicles by 2025 (currently 60% of new car sales are electric)

15.  Portugal: plans to stop selling new petrol vehicles by 2040

16. Quebec: phasing out sales of new gas cars by 2035

17.  Slovenia: plans to ban sales of new fossil fuel vehicles by 2030

18.  Spain: plans to ban the sale of vehicles running on fossil fuels by 2040

19.  Sri Lanka: plans to ban all fossil fuel vehicles from the roads by 2040.

20.  Sweden: plans to ban sales of petrol cars after 2030

21.  Taiwan: plans to ban sales of new non-electric vehicles by 2040

22. Thailand: plans to phase out sales of new gas cars by 2035

23.  UK: plans to ban sales of purely petrol or diesel vehicles by 2030; Scotland: plans to phase out sales of new petrol vehicles by 2032.

Non-US Cities

Amsterdam: no internal combustion engine (ICE) vehicles will be allowed in city center after 2030.

Brussels: planning to largely ban gasoline powered vehicles from operating in the city by 2035.

Bristol: may be the first city to ban diesel vehicles from entering the city center.

Hong Kong: plans to phase out all gasoline and diesel vehicles by 2030 or 2040. is an authoritative car blog in Nigeria. Its objective is to get Nigerians and a wider audience to be more informed about automobiles, the automotive sector and transport infrastructure. Over the years, we have been instrumental in creating immeasurable public awareness about automobiles and their maintenance, safety and traffic laws, amongst others. ...Your mobility, our priority. NK

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *