Connect with us


The 20 Past And Present Inspectors General Of Police In Nigeria

Nwogbunyama Emeka



inspectors general police

inspectors general police

This is a comprehensive list of the Inspectors General of Police in Nigeria since independence till present day. Nigeria as a country has had twenty (20) Inspectors General of Police; including the present one.

The Inspector General of Police is the head of Police force and most senior officer in the police service. The person who appoints IGP is the president; often by the recommendations by the Nigeria Police Council.

The current inspector general of police is IGP Mohammed Abubakar Adamu. He has been in office since 2019 till present day.

1. IGP Louis Edet (1964-1966)

Chief Louis Edet is the first indigenous Nigerian to occupy the office of Inspector General of Police. The Nigeria Police Force headquarters in Abuja is named after Louis Edet as “Louis Edet House”.

2. IGP Kam Salem (1966-1975)

3. IGP Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu (1975-1979)

4. IGP Adamu Suleiman (1979–1981)

5. IGP Sunday Adewusi (1981–1983)

6. IGP Etim Inyang (1985–1986)

7. IGP Muhammadu Gambo-Jimeta (1986–1990)

8. IGP Aliyu Atta (1990–1993)

9. IGP Ibrahim Coomassie (1993–1999)

10. IGP Musiliu Smith (1999–2002)

11. IGP Mustafa Adebayo Balogun (2002 – 2005)

12. IGP Sunday Ehindero (2005–2007)

13. IGP Mike Mbama Okiro (2007–2009)

14. IGP Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo (2009 – 2010)

15. IGP Hafiz Ringim (2010 – 2012)

16. IGP Mohammed DIKKO Abubarkar (2012 – 2014)

17. IGP Suleiman Abba (2014 -2015)

18. IGP Solomon E. Arase (2015 – 2016)

19. IGP Ibraim Kpotun Idris (2016-2019)

20. IGP Mohammed Abubakar Adamu (2019-Till Date)

Emeka is a Contributor at Autojosh. A graduate of Electrical/Electronic Engineering with a B.Eng degree. Emeka is a car enthusiast who is interested in traveling, writing, movies and driving. He also loves drinking garri with cold water.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *