Connect with us


Lagos State License Plate Number Codes And What They Mean



number plate category nigeria

Ever wondered what the codes on license plate number stands for.

The unique plate combination of all non customised plate numbers is in the format ABC-123DE.The first three letters indicate the Local Government Area in which the vehicle was registered, which are followed by three digits and two letters.

ABC-123DE example
KSF-622AE for Kosofe LG

GGE-123ZY for Agege LG

ABA for Aba south

AAH for Anambra(Oguocha)

The following first three letters you see on any Lagos plate number indicates the Local Government area in which the vehicle was registered.

SMK= Somolu LG

JJJ = Ojo LG

KJA = Ikeja LG

AAA = Lagos Island LG

FKJ = Ifako Ijaiye

AKD = Ibeju Lekki LGA (Headquarter in Akodo)

LND = Lagos Mainland LG

LSR = Surulere LG

LSD = Oshodi Isolo LG

KSF = Kosofe LG

AGL = Ajeromi Ifelodun

APP = Apapa LG

KTU = Ketu

BDG = Badagry LG

EKY = Eti-Osa LG

KRD = Ikorodu

EPE = Epe LG 

MUS = Mushin LG

GGE = Agege LG

FST = Festac LG

The same rules applies to all non customised plate numbers in all 36 states In Nigeria.

In size and shape, Nigerian license plates are based on those of the United States. Nigeria and Liberia are the only two African countries that do not use the European license plate format.

The license plates are generally white and the number itself is imprinted in blue. In the upper left-hand corner they carry the Flag of Nigeria or the national coat of arms.

The state name and slogan is displayed at the top centre of the plate, and the “Federal Republic of Nigeria” is written at the bottom.

You are free to add your state/local government license plate codes if you know one.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Dapson

    February 9, 2018 at 11:36


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *