Connect with us

Autoshows & Awards

Volvo XC60 Scoops 2018 World Car Of The Year Award At New York Show






The Volvo XC60 has won the 2018 World Car of the Year award at the New York auto show against competition from two other finalists, the Mazda CX-5 and Range Rover Velar.

This is the second year on the trot that the World Car Of The Year award has been presented to an SUV. It was the Jaguar F-Pace that was crowned the World Car Of the Year in 2017 and the SUV trend seems to continue.

This year, vehicles were selected and voted on by an international jury panel comprised of 82 top-level automotive journalists from 24 countries around the world.

Previous World Car of the Year winners were the
Jaguar F-PACE (2017),
Mazda MX-5 (2016),
Mercedes-Benz C-Class (2015),
the Audi A3 (2014),
the Volkswagen Golf (2013),
the Volkswagen Up (2012),
the Nissan Leaf (2011),
the Volkswagen Polo (2010,
the Volkswagen Golf (2009),
the Mazda2 / Mazda Demio (2008), the Lexus LS460 (2007),
the BMW 3-Series (2006),
and the Audi A6 (2005).

Other awards were presented to the Audi A8 for the World Luxury car, the BMW M5 for the World Performance car, the Nissan Leaf for the World Green Car, the VW Polo for the World Urban Car
and the Range Rover Velar for the World Car Design of the Year.