Connect with us


The 15 Ranks Of Nigeria Police Force



nigeria police force ranks

nigeria police force ranks

There are fifteen (15) ranks in the Nigeria Police Force. The Force is the principal law enforcement agency in Nigeria. It has staff deployment across the 36 states of the country and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The fundamental duties of the police are safeguarding lives and properties; protecting the innocent; keeping peace and community service. In addition to these, their duty is also ensuring the rights of all to liberty, equality and justice. The force maintains a three-tier administrative structure of departments, zonal and state commands.  The command and control of the Nigeria Police Force is under the Inspector General of Police.

In this post, you’ll see the fifteen (15) ranks of the Nigeria Police Force and their various functions. The listing will be done in a descending order; from the highest to the least rank.

1. Inspector General of Police

The Inspector General of Police (IGP) is the head of Police force and most senior officer in the police service. The IGP controls the force through the chain of command of the Police Force.  Nigeria has had a total of 20 IGPs from 1964 to present day. Mohammed Abubakar Adamu is the current IGP of Nigeria Police Force.

2. Deputy Inspector General of Police

The Deputy Inspector General (DIG) is second in command in the Nigeria Police Force , and acts in the absence of the IGP. The seven (7) administrative departments of the force is headed by one Deputy Inspector General of Police. According to the Section 5 of the Police Act, the Nigeria Police Council determines the number of DIGs.

3. Assistant Inspector General of Police

The Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) ranks above the state commissioner of police, but is a subordinate to the Deputy Inspector General. The AIG can stand in the absence of the Inspector General and Deputy Inspector General. The AIG also head a zone of the Police force.

See Also: Nigeria Police Code Of Conduct

4. Commissioner of Police

A Commissioner of Police (CP) heads a state command. The rank of the CP is appointed by the Inspector-General of Police and approved by the Police Service Commission. The CP takes instructions directly from the Inspector General of police or anyone acting in the absence of the Inspector General.

5. Deputy Commissioner of Police

A Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) heads an area command. He/she is the second highest ranking officer in a state police command, and can stand in the absence of the commissioner.

6. Assistant Commissioner of Police

The rank of the Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) is junior to that of the Deputy Commissioner. ACP can also stand in as the Commissioner of Police in the absence of both the Commissioner of Police and Deputy Commissioner of Police.

7. Chief Superintendent of Police

The rank of the Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP) is given to the police officer in charge of a department of the police force command of a state.

8. Superintendent of Police

The Superintendent of Police directly under the command of Chief Superintendent of Police and gives assistance to the CSP.

9. Deputy Superintendent of Police

The Deputy superintendent of police (DSP) rank above Assistant Superintendent and below superintendent. DSP can stand in the absence of the Superintendent of Police.

10. Assistant Superintendent of Police

The Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) is the 6th lowest rank in the force that is just above the inspector of police.

11. Inspector of Police

A police Inspector ranks below a commissioner and superintendent. An inspector manages teams of sergeants and constables.

12. Sergeant Major

13. Sergeant


15. Constable