Connect with us


Zamfara State Number Plate Codes And What They Mean



zamfara number plate codes

zamfara number plate codes

Every state in Nigeria has their various number plate codes. These codes engraved on plate numbers have what they mean.

In our previous posts, we talked about Lagos State, Anambra, Imo, Abia, Jigawa, Ondo, Katsina, and Enugu State number plate codes and what they mean. This time around, we would reveal the meaning of Zamfara State Number Plate Codes.

The first three letters you see on any plate number indicates the Local Government area of registration for the vehicle.

Below are the number plate codes and what they mean.

ANK – Anka

BKA – Bakura

BKM – Bukkuyum

BUG – Bungudu

GMM – Gumi

GUS – Gusau

KRN – Kaura-Namoda

BMJ – Birnin Magaji

MRD – Maradun

MRR – Shinkafi

TMA – Talata-Mafara

TSF – Tsafe

ZRM – Zurmi

The license plates are generally white, and the number itself is of blue imprint. The background consists of an outline of a map of Nigeria. The top left corner bears the Nigerian flag or the coat of arm. The state name and slogan is displayed at the top centre of the plate, and the “Federal Republic of Nigeria” is written at the bottom.

The area today called Zamfara state was one of the old Hausa city-states like Kano, Katsina, Gobir, Kabi and Zazzau. The people of Zamfara have over the years struggled for autonomy, it was not until 1996 that the then military administration of the Late General Sani Abacha detached the Zamfara State from Sokoto State.

Did we miss any of the Zamfara state number plate codes? Kindly let us know using the comment section.

We will update it as soon as you do.

Emeka is a Contributor at Autojosh. A graduate of Electrical/Electronic Engineering with a B.Eng degree. Emeka is a car enthusiast who is interested in traveling, writing, movies and driving. He also loves drinking garri with cold water.